Drive Clean Indiana

The Drive Clean Indiana works with vehicle fleets, fuel providers, community leaders, and other stakeholders to save energy and promote the use of domestic fuels and advanced vehicle technologies in transportation.

Expanded Statewide Coverage for Indiana

Indiana is now offering statewide Clean Cities support and services through a single point of contact. The statewide program is an opportunity to leverage and combine resources and partnerships to build a stronger, better-coordinated alternative fuel and advanced transportation collaborative throughout the state. The U.S. Department of Energy designated the South Shore Clean Cities / Legacy Environmental team to represent all of Indiana as part of the national network. More information related to changes and enhancements for Clean Cities in Indiana will be coming soon.

Contact Information

10115 Ravenwood Dr, Ste B
St. John, IN 46373

Carl Lisek

Carl Lisek leads Drive Clean Indiana (DCI) as executive director of Indiana’s only designated Clean Cities Initiative to implement strategies to advance affordable, efficient, and clean transportation and fuels throughout the Hoosier State. He currently advocates for the State of Indiana on the deployment and collaboration of Electric Vehicles and Electric Vehicle Infrastructure to decarbonize Indiana’s transportation sector by shifting vehicles, fuels, and technologies that reduce transportation greenhouse gas emissions.
In 2022 Drive Clean Indiana coordinated over $30 million of Clean Transportation funding opportunities with its partners. This includes the deployment of EV charging infrastructure and EV vehicle deployment. Drive Clean Indiana in partnership with the State of Indiana Department of Environmental Management (IDEM) provides education, outreach, and marketing of the statewide electric initiative in collaboration with the Indiana Utility Group. Carl was inducted into the U.S. Department of Energy Clean Cities Hall of Fame in 2015.
Clean Cities Hall of Fame.

General Stats

  • Designated: June 15, 1999
  • Population: 6,805,985 (based on 2021 Census estimate)
  • Area: 36,187 sq. mi.
  • Local/Regional Service Area: Entire State of Indiana
  • Extended Service Area: Statewide. Contact us to connect with the experts, resources, and information you need.

Alternative Fueling Stations

Including public and private stations

  • Biodiesel (B20 and above): 14
  • Electric (charging outlets): 1,149
  • Ethanol (E85): 238
  • Hydrogen: 0
  • Natural Gas: 28
  • Propane: 53

Energy Use Impact*

Annual Energy Impact

Annual Energy Impact by Alternative Fuel Vehicle Project Type

Emissions Reduced*

Annual Emissions Reduced

Emissions Reduced by Alternative Fuel Vehicle Project Type
*2021 DOE-Verified Metrics